The Power of Hate: Why Embracing Complaints Will Transform Your Business

 

Receiving customer complaints is guaranteed if your doors (or website) is open for business. It’s not a matter of ‘if’ you will receive them, but rather ‘when’. Any seasoned leader or entrepreneur will tell you that they come with the territory. And although you may have a legendary product that is bound to turn the world upside down for the better or save abandoned kittens off the streets, you will still receive negative feedback. What you do with that feedback, however, will determine how long your doors remain open.

 

My main role as a Customer Experience Manager is to sift through feedback and look for solutions- both for the individual customer at hand and the organization as a whole. This can quickly become an overwhelming task if I don’t keep in mind the ‘why’ behind what I’m doing. I can easily feel like a human punching bag taking one hit after another if I just receive the feedback like a robot. Adding heart to this process takes time and intentionality, something I am continually learning to do more often.

 

I recently started reading Jay Baer’s newest book Hug Your Haters. If you haven’t read it yet, do yourself a favor and order a copy today; it’s worth your time, I promise! It’s one of those books that you highlight every page because the points are so spot on. The entire premise is how to deal with negative feedback and those who leave it, aka ‘haters’. Baer states that “Haters are not your problem…Ignoring them is” (3). When you don’t respond to feedback, even if it’s the harshest thing you’ve ever heard, you’re communicating ‘I don’t care’.

 

If you think about it- customers who take the time to provide feedback care enough about your brand to offer such suggestions. Listening to feedback and taking what was said into consideration is merely showing your customer respect. Welcoming feedback isn’t always an easy pill to swallow, yet it will greatly benefit your business if you embrace the value behind it. Scott Wise, owner of Scotty’s Brewhouse, has the following viewpoint regarding negative feedback: “People don’t complain just to complain, they have a legitimate concern, and you need to recognize that as an opportunity, not a problem” (5).

 

When you address customer complaints rather than dismiss them, you get to the root of the problem, which most often will improve your offering and increase customer satisfaction and retention. It shows your customers that you value their feedback and are listening. Debbie Goldberg, co-owner of Fresh Brothers Pizza, says it best: “Overall, I want people to know that, good or bad, we’re listening and we care, and we’re working on it” (13).

 

So what’s the winning equation to hugging your haters? According to Baer, it’s “answering every complaint, in ever channel, every time” (10). The popularity of social media has made this both challenging and convenient. Since there are so many different platforms haters can be flock to, responding takes resources, time, and money. If you are a small business owner with limited staff, I recommend sticking to a few platforms that work best for your business and responding to every comment every time.

 

Successful businesses understand the power and potential of harnessing feedback. They appreciate the good ones and view the bad ones as growth opportunities rather than crushing critiques. I believe the philosophy of hugging haters is what sets apart the minor leagues from the major leagues.

 

Do you normally hug your haters? Or do you tell them to go pound sand? I’d love to hear your take on embracing complaints. Leave me a comment below or send me a tweet.

 

PC: Claude_Star

35 Comments
  • shoe inserts for height
    September 9, 2016

    I аm genuinely grateful to the holder of this weeb site who has shared this great post aɑt
    at this place.

  • best walking shoes
    September 25, 2016

    You made some really good points there. I checked on the internet to find out
    more about the issue and found most individuals will go
    along with your views on this website.

  • hotel near me tonight
    November 27, 2016

    I am extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays.

  • windows 10 upgrade
    December 8, 2016

    Good post. I am facing some of these issues as well..

  • amex login
    December 30, 2016

    I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.
    I do not know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉
    Cheers!

  • amex login
    January 6, 2017

    We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme
    in our community. Your site offered us with valuable info
    to work on. You’ve done a formidable job
    and our entire community will be thankful to you.

  • potty training boys
    January 19, 2017

    Hiya very nice site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing ..

    I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds also?I’m satisfied to seek out numerous useful info
    right here in the put up, we need develop extra strategies in this
    regard, thanks for sharing.

  • bank of america edd card sign in
    January 30, 2017

    Thanks , I have just been searching for info approximately this subject for a long time and
    yours is the greatest I have came upon till now.
    However, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you sure in regards to
    the supply?

  • capital one credit card login
    February 9, 2017

    Wonderful website. Lots of useful information here.
    I’m sending it to several pals ans additionally sharing in delicious.
    And of course, thanks on your effort!

  • capital one login full site
    February 9, 2017

    Today, I went to the beach front with my children. I found
    a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.

    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had to tell someone!

  • citicards login
    February 23, 2017

    Pay – Pal provides a secure service for getting items and sending money online.

  • gmail sign in
    February 24, 2017

    The mobile Gmail app cannot export contacts, so you ought to gain access to a pc.
    Will you increase the risk for argument that given numerous years of use, I will have arrived at stop fucking
    this up now, and furthermore, that as interface components,
    are both located within the suitable positionsa?Archive being a prominent button in the top-centerish,
    Expand All nested in the upper right which has a more targeted group of functionsa?and the fact that the iconography remains logical for both actions,
    along with similar to the overall language in the design.

  • chase.com login
    February 27, 2017

    I have been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or blog posts on this sort of house .
    Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this website.
    Studying this info So i am glad to exhibit that I have an incredibly just right uncanny feeling I found out
    just what I needed. I so much without a doubt will make
    certain to don?t fail to remember this site and give it a glance on a constant basis.

  • gmail.com login
    February 28, 2017

    Very good post! We are linking to this great post on our site.
    Keep up the great writing.

  • barclay credit card login
    February 28, 2017

    Howdy fantastic blog! Does running a blog similar to this take a lot of work?
    I’ve very little knowledge of programming however I
    was hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyhow, should
    you have any ideas or techniques for new blog owners please share.
    I know this is off subject however I just wanted to ask.
    Thanks!

  • bank of america online banking
    March 1, 2017

    Hi, I would like to subscribe for this weblog to obtain most up-to-date updates, therefore where
    can i do it please assist.

  • hotmail.com.login
    March 2, 2017

    If the panel just isn’t present, open it by going for the “Windows” menu and clicking “Server Behaviors.

  • itunes account login
    March 2, 2017

    obviously like your website however you have to test the spelling
    on several of your posts. A number of them are
    rife with spelling issues and I in finding it very bothersome
    to tell the reality then again I will certainly come back again.

  • citicards secure sign in
    March 6, 2017

    The debt is often put up available for sale by large credit companies and
    could be purchased for pennies around the dollar. In order to download your Citi Card financial data into Quicken, you should have an internet account for ones.

  • my aol email
    March 6, 2017

    When you initially enroll for a free account with America Online, that
    you are required to pick a unique screen name.

  • outlook email login
    March 7, 2017

    The message “The Operation Failed” in Microsoft Office Outlook is often a
    frustrating obstacle as it offers no insight into
    why a seemingly.

  • outlook sign in
    March 8, 2017

    It’s going to be ending of mine day, except before ending I am reading this enormous article to
    improve my know-how.

  • gmail.com login sign
    March 8, 2017

    Hello! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group
    of volunteers and starting a new project in a
    community in the same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You have done a extraordinary job!

  • Reta
    March 15, 2017

    whoah this blog is excellent i love reading your articles.
    Stay up the good work! You recognize, lots of people are searching around for
    this information, you could aid them greatly.

  • citicards account online
    April 14, 2017

    How to Deposit Money From a Credit Card Into Your Checking Account;
    Wells Fargo Lending Process; Is it Common to Use a.
    What consumers don’t know is that they are near the debit card company’s mercy.

  • citibank online login
    April 14, 2017

    ) Credit card providers supporting it currently include Citi,
    Discover and Bank of America–begin to see the Resource section for links to all 3.
    Credit card security codes drive back fraud by ensuring which the account
    holder has the greeting card at some time of purchase.

  • aol mail login
    April 14, 2017

    Open the your online Manager or perhaps Mozilla Firefox internet browser.

  • facebook log in
    April 16, 2017

    you might want to chat in their mind without having Facebook open. ” If that you are “friends” with someone, you’ll be able to click within the in box on top of your page and select “Send a Message.

  • itunes login
    April 17, 2017

    Whether you've got a fresh single or perhaps
    want to make your old. When a DLL file is necessary,
    it can be loaded and run by a program.

  • netflix login page
    April 23, 2017

    Netflix is definitely an online service that permits you to order or rent a limitless
    amount of quantity of movies and TV shows
    by paying a set subscription fee each and every month.

  • paypal quick ship
    April 24, 2017

    Call Customer Service (1-402-935-2050) or ask an issue online for
    an immediate answer (see.

  • paypal login
    May 26, 2017

    Etsy is an online marketplace for website visitors to sell their crafts, artwork, crafting supplies and vintage items.

  • outlook.com email
    May 31, 2017

    Charter Communications offers nearly 10 email accounts as
    well as its high-speed Internet services.

  • vanderbilt gmail login
    June 21, 2017

    Understanding the way the SSL and cloud technology
    relationship works means knowing the significance of public and key pairs together with verified identification information. Vedno pa z medmrenim
    naroilom prihranimo, tako e kako potrebne ure kot tudi energijo.

  • yahoo mail inbox
    June 26, 2017

    Please note if we have set the Administrator password before, we must input the changed password rather than leaving Password field blank.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: